Text pi to 797979

for an Immediate Response

Text pi
to 797979

Talk to our Investigators

Call 844-533-0553 | Fax 833-329-8687

Call 844-533-0553
Fax 833-329-8687

FS1, Fox Lead 38th Annual Sports Emmy Awards With World Series Boost

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

FS1 and Fox topped the leader board at the 38th Annual Sports Emmy Awards on Tuesday night.

They took home multiple awards at the special ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City, hosted by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

“Tonight we salute the competence, skill and grandeur that is the sports broadcasting industry,” Bob Mauro, President, NATAS, said after the esteemed show. “In addition to celebrating the outstanding work by this evening’s nominees, we are pleased to honor Brent Musburger for his long and prolific career and present him with the Sports Lifetime Achievement Award.”

Fox and FS1 were aided to nine and seven awards respectively thanks to coverage of the historic World Series run by the Chicago Cubs last year.

HBO and NBC each won five accolades, with ESPN, CBS and the MLB Network taking home four each.

Beloved Turner sportscaster Craig Sager — who lost his battle with cancer in December — was honored a Sports Emmy for Outstanding Sports Personality.

“It’s never too late to take home the hardware,” his son, Craig Sager Jr., tweeted.

Winners were announced in 41 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others. The awards recognize outstanding achievement by individuals and programs broadcast throughout the 2016 calendar year.

The awards were presented by a distinguished group of sports figures and television personalities including Verne Lundquist and Bill Raftery (CBS); Bob Ley and Jeremy Schaap (ESPN); Kevin Burkhardt, Alex Rodriguez and Frank Thomas (FOX); Andrea Kramer (HBO); Harold Reynolds and Bill Ripken (MLB Network); NASCAR’s rising star, Daniel Suarez; David Feherty and Tara Lipinski (NBC); Dan Hellie, Willie McGinest and Michael Robinson (NFL Network); Brandon Marshall and Mauro Ranallo (Showtime); and Pedro Martinez, Jimmy Rollins and Gary Sheffield (Turner Sports).

Click here for a full list of the winners.

Related stories from TheWrap:

Former Chicago Bears QB Jay Cutler Joins Fox Sports Booth as Game Analyst

IMG, Mandalay Sports Media Launch Feature Film Slate With ‘The Art of Fielding’

Tony Romo to Join CBS Sports After Retiring From NFL

Source: the wrap feed

Free Consultation

Complete the form below to obtain a free quote for any of our services.

Please read the Disclaimer Privacy Policy.


By signing or submitting this form, you agree to the terms and conditions and privacy policy of this website.

To hire an California licensed investigator immediately, call 844-533-0553. We provide you with a free initial consultation and price quote for all our services.

Online Forms

Awards and Recognition

The true measutre of a Private Investigator isn't the awards, but what the awards say about the Private Investigator: dedication and commitment to the client.

gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-134319358-10', );